Take This Pink Ribbon off my Eyes

Lizzo’s “Women of Substance” show at St. Kate’s…I had my doubts, because the St. Kate’s auditorium is not exactly a dance floor, which is really the best kind of place to be at a Lizzo show.  And then when my friend and I got there, we found out we were seated next to a couple families who had brought their small children.  I’m done being horrified at the questionable choices other parents make, so I made up my mind to not give it another thought.

Dizzy Fae, who opened the show, made a point to say she noticed there were kids in the audience, and offered a sorry/not sorry warning before going into her song, “Booty 3000”.  Dizzy Fae is so young and as absolutely polished as an entertainer can be.  She’s kind of a miracle to watch on stage.  This was my third time seeing her perform and I love her more every time.  Also, her outfits delight and mystify me.  I wouldn’t leave the house in high-waisted, pleated pants, but she’s so pretty, she could make a garbage bag look good.

IMG_0359

Sophia Eres was next with her DJ set, and for about the first half of it, the audience sat lamely in their seats.  Because SEATS, for crying out loud.  It’s not that I can’t sit and stare at her while she whips around her magical ponytail, but dance music is made for dancing, and I felt bad for her.  This bizarre audience: older white women, the families with kids, and the talkative, mostly-male group coming and going with their drinks in the row behind us.  When one guy whined something about, “when are we going to stand up?”  My friend surprised me by turning and saying, “NOW is when we stand up!’ And up she went.  So I stood too, dying a little inside, because I normally don’t stand until about 90% of the crowd is on their feet.  I imagined thousands of people behind me looking at my backside, annoyed.  But others stood, and then I finally felt secure to dance around a little in my confined area.

IMG_0360

With the crowd finally warmed up, Lizzo came out with her dancers and blew us all away with her vocals and attitude.  She’s tough, glamorous, real, unapologetic, and extremely talented.

IMG_0361

I feel like the pictures speak for themselves.  I could not take my eyes off her and her amazing dancers.  The stage was always filled with confident women of all shapes and sizes and their choreography was fun and energetic.

IMG_0362

So one cool thing I learned about Lizzo is that her entire crew is made up of women, and this is intentional because the hip hop world is usually pretty male-dominated and she sees her success as an opportunity to bring other women up with her.

IMG_0363

Lizzo is known for her message of positive body image, which is something I could do a lot more work on.  No, I don’t need to dance on stage in a tight black bodysuit, but maybe I could be less hesitant to stand up and dance in the audience when I hear a song I like.  Of course, that wouldn’t be a problem if we weren’t forced to sit in chairs in the first place.

 

Leave a Reply

